LIVE

Vaultek vs Hornady RAPiD Safes (2026): Which Should You Buy?

Last updated October 2026 · By Nick Hall, who has run the fingerprint reader on a Vaultek fifty times in a row and read every RAPiD manual Hornady publishes

Some of the links below are affiliate links, meaning at no additional cost to you, we may earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase.

Table of Contents

How we tested: Every pick here is ranked against our testing methodology. Minimum round counts, accuracy and reliability protocols, the failures that disqualify a gun.

The Short Answer

Buy a Vaultek if you want to open the safe with your finger and get alerts on your phone. Buy a Hornady RAPiD if you’d rather wear the key on your wrist and never think about fingerprints. That’s the real choice, because the two brands lock their safes in different ways.

For a single handgun by the bed, I’d buy the Vaultek Barikade Series 2. It’s 14-gauge steel like the Hornady RAPiD 2700KP, it reads a fingerprint, it runs up to a year on one 9V battery, and Vaultek covers it for up to two years with registration against Hornady’s one. Hornady wins in two places. Its RAPiD Ready Vault holds more long guns for less money than any Vaultek rifle safe, and an RFID tag still works when your hands are wet, cold or gloved.

Four AA batteries, four AAA batteries, a 9V battery, a micro-USB cable, a wall adapter and a phone laid out on an oak desk

Vaultek vs Hornady, Model by Model

Both brands sell everything from a drawer box to a full rifle cabinet, so a brand-level verdict doesn’t tell you much. I paired each Vaultek with the Hornady built for the same job and took every spec from the maker’s own product page or owner’s manual. Prices are each maker’s list price on its own web store in October 2026. Retailers sell most of these for less, and the cards near the end show today’s best prices.

SafeMaker priceSteelWays inPowerHolds
Vaultek Barikade Series 2$159.99 to $199.9914 gaugeFingerprint (biometric version), keypad, key9V battery, up to 1 year1 full-size or 2 compact handguns
Hornady RAPiD 2700KP$304.9914 gaugeRFID tag, keypad, keyAC adapter or 4 AA1911 pistols, 4-inch revolvers
Vaultek VT Series$369.9914 gaugeFingerprint, keypad, Nano Key, keyRechargeable battery, up to 3 months2 handguns up to 13.7 in
Hornady RAPiD 4800KP$339.9914 gaugeRFID tag, keypad, keyAC adapter and batteryTwo 1911 pistols or one large revolver
Vaultek ViSN DS5i$559.99Not statedFingerprint, keypad, keyAC adapter, 2 AAA backup2 full-size pistols
Hornady RAPiD Night Guard$365.99Not statedRFID tag, code, keyAC adapter or 4 AAAMost full-size handguns
Vaultek ViSN RS500i$1,699.99 to $1,899.9914 gaugeFingerprint, keypad, Nano Key, keyPlugs in, 4 AA backup5+ rifles plus handguns
Hornady RAPiD Ready Vault$1,099.99Not statedRFID tag, keypad, keyAC adapter or 4 AAUp to 8 long guns and 14 handguns
Vaultek ViSN RS Slider$1,199.9914 gaugeFingerprint, keypad, Nano Key, keyAC adapter, backup batteries1 to 2 AR-style rifles
Hornady RAPiD AR Gunlocker$585.9916 gaugeRFID tag, keypad, keyAC adapter and battery2 tactical-length rifles or shotguns

Read across the pairs and a pattern shows. On handgun boxes the two brands sit close on price and both use 14-gauge steel. Once you move up to long guns, Hornady costs far less: the Ready Vault lists at $1,099.99 and holds up to eight long guns, while Vaultek’s RS500i lists at $1,699.99 and holds five or more. Vaultek charges more for its app, its fingerprint reader and a more finished interior.

Fingerprint vs RFID: The Difference That Decides It

Every RAPiD safe opens with an RFID tag. Hornady ships a watchband tag, a key fob and stick-on decals, and you can program up to five tags into each safe. One tag will open every RAPiD you own. You hold the tag near the reader and the lid pops. There’s no code to remember and no finger to read, which is why it works with gloves on, with gun oil on your hands, or with a cut on your thumb.

Vaultek’s metal safes open with a fingerprint on the biometric versions, plus a keypad and backup keys on every model. The VT Series stores 20 fingerprints, and the ViSN DS5i, MX and RS models store 80. Many Vaultek models also take the Nano Key, a small wireless button Vaultek describes as a “hidden panic button for immediate access”. You stick it under a headboard or a desk, and pressing it opens the safe.

Which one is faster is mostly marketing. Hornady says its patented RFID “unlocks safe faster than keypads and biometrics”. When I ran our Vaultek Barikade Series 2 through 50 tries per condition for our biometric reliability test, it opened 50 of 50 times with a clean, dry finger, 46 of 50 with gun oil on my fingertip, 44 of 50 with cold hands, and 41 of 50 with damp hands. When it missed, the second press worked every time. Five other adults made 100 tries between them and it never opened for any of them.

So the trade is plain. A fingerprint can’t be lost or borrowed, but it can make you press twice. A tag never misreads, but anyone wearing your watchband can open the safe, and a tag left on the nightstand is a key left on the nightstand. Hornady’s manual is blunt about it: “The RAPiD Safe is only as secure as your maintenance of the keys, code and RFID tags.”

The Battery Catch Hornady Doesn’t Put on the Box

Hornady sells the RAPiD as touch-free, and plugged into the wall it is. Unplug it, though, and the reader goes to sleep to save power. The 2700KP manual says that on battery power “you must press any button on the lid to activate the reader”. Then you hold the tag within an inch of the reader. That’s two steps instead of one. It matters if you plan to run the safe on batteries in a car, a closet with no outlet, or during a power cut.

Battery life differs by model on both sides, so check the one you’re buying:

  • Hornady RAPiD 2700KP: AC adapter, or four AA batteries. Hornady says quality batteries “should last approximately 12 months, depending on use”.
  • Hornady Night Guard: AC adapter, or four AAA batteries.
  • Vaultek Barikade Series 2: one 9V battery, “Up to 1 Year under normal use”, with a micro-USB port that powers the safe if the battery dies.
  • Vaultek VT Series: a rechargeable lithium-ion battery that runs up to 3 months and charges in 2.5 hours. It can also stay plugged in.
  • Vaultek ViSN DS5i: built to stay plugged in. Two AAA batteries give “short term backup power” in an outage.

The VT’s three months is the one to watch. A rechargeable safe that you forget to charge ends up as a box you open with a key. Keep it plugged in if it sits by the bed.

Steel and Build: Mostly a Tie at 14 Gauge

The two pages that rank at the top for this comparison both say Vaultek uses 16-gauge steel. That’s out of date for most of the line. Vaultek’s own pages list 14-gauge steel for the Barikade Series 2, the VT Series, the RS500i, the RS800i and the RS Slider, and the MX pairs a 14-gauge body with a 12-gauge door. The 16-gauge models are the slimmer ones, like the Slider Series pistol safe and the Essential 20 Series.

Hornady’s handgun RAPiDs are 14-gauge too. The 2700KP and 4800KP each use two hardened locking lugs, and the AR Gunlocker drops to 16-gauge with four lugs. Hornady doesn’t print a steel gauge for the Ready Vault or the Night Guard, and Vaultek doesn’t print one for the DS5i. Where a maker stays quiet, I left the cell blank instead of guessing.

Neither brand sells these as fire safes. Hornady’s manual says the RAPiD “is not intended to protect the contents from fire, water, humidity, or other environmental conditions.” These are quick-access safes for keeping a gun away from kids and grab-and-go thieves. If you need fire protection too, pair one with a full-size safe from our fireproof gun safe rankings.

Apps and Alerts: Vaultek Tells You More

Vaultek’s ViSN models connect to your home WiFi and send live alerts for “tampering, impacts, and temperature/humidity changes”. The DS5i also goes into a security sleep mode after repeated wrong codes or unknown fingerprints. The VT Series isn’t a ViSN safe, but it has Bluetooth and an Impact Detection System that sounds an alarm on the safe if someone bumps it.

Hornady’s app is simpler. The RAPiD Ready Vault connects over WiFi, and the app sends “an alert when the safe is unlocked.” That covers the question most parents care about, which is whether anyone opened it. Hornady doesn’t list app alerts for its handgun boxes, like the 2700KP and Night Guard.

If alerts are why you’re shopping, Vaultek is the brand. If you’d rather your gun safe never touch your WiFi network, a Hornady handgun box or a non-ViSN Vaultek like the Barikade gives you that.

Long Guns: RAPiD Ready Vault vs Vaultek RS Series

This is where Hornady pulls ahead. The RAPiD Ready Vault lists at $1,099.99 and stands 52.2 inches tall. Hornady says its racks hold up to eight long guns and 14 handguns, and it weighs 165 pounds on the product page. Vaultek’s RS500i lists at $1,699.99 for “up to 5 rifles”, and the RS800i lists at $1,999.99 for eight or more. That’s $600 more for the Vaultek that holds fewer guns.

What the extra money buys at Vaultek is the fingerprint reader, which stores 80 prints, along with ViSN alerts, 14-gauge steel and an auto-opening door. Those are real advantages. But if you just need fast access to a home-defense shotgun and a couple of rifles, the Ready Vault does the job for less.

For a single AR under the bed or in a closet, Hornady’s AR Gunlocker lists at $585.99 and holds two tactical-length rifles or shotguns. Vaultek’s RS Slider lists at $1,199.99 for one to two AR-style rifles plus pistols, with 14-gauge steel to the Gunlocker’s 16.

The Third Option: Hornady’s Palm-Vein VEXIS

Hornady has added a biometric line, and it reads the veins in your palm instead of your fingerprint. The VEXIS Night Guard lists at $415.99 on Hornady’s store, $50 more than the RFID Night Guard. Hornady pitches it on the point that matters most for a biometric lock: the pattern is under your skin, so it isn’t something you leave behind on a glass or a doorknob.

It’s new, and I don’t have long-term data on it yet. If fingerprint readers are what put you off Vaultek, read our VEXIS palm-vein safe report before you decide.

California Approval and Recalls

One of the top-ranking pages says only some Vaultek models are California approved. California’s roster of certified firearm safety devices says otherwise. When I searched it in October 2026, it listed 73 Vaultek entries, including the VT20i, MX, DS5i, RS500i and RS800i, and 30 Hornady entries, including the 2700KP, 4800KP, Night Guard, Ready Vault and AR Gunlocker. Either brand works if you’re buying in California, but check the exact model number against the roster before you pay. Our California gun safe guide explains what that approval does and doesn’t mean.

Recalls matter more with quick-access safes than any other kind. Since 2023, seven biometric gun safe recalls have covered 323,990 units, and in those recalls the safes opened for people they shouldn’t have. Neither Vaultek nor Hornady appears in the CPSC’s recall database. I searched the database for both names and checked every gun safe recall it lists.

Warranty: Vaultek Gives You Longer

Vaultek’s warranty is tiered. LifePods and every Barikade get one year, plus a second year when you register the safe. LifePod XR, XT and XRC models and every metal safe except the Barikade get two years, plus a third year when you register. In warranty, Vaultek sends a prepaid shipping label, pays for parts and labor, and ships the safe back. The warranty covers the original buyer only, purchased from an authorized dealer in the U.S.

Hornady’s RAPiD warranty is one year from the date of purchase, for the original owner only. Hornady will “repair the defect(s) or replace RAPiD Safe” at its own choice and expense.

One Hornady rule catches people out. If you lose the barrel keys, Hornady won’t help: “For your security, Hornady Security WILL NOT send replacement keys.” A locksmith becomes your only option, so store one key somewhere safe outside the safe.

What You’ll Actually Pay

Don’t buy a RAPiD from Hornady’s own store. The 2700KP lists at $304.99 there, while Palmetto State Armory has it at $232.99 and Brownells at $249.99. That’s $72 saved at PSA for the same safe, and the price card below shows some retailers going lower still. Vaultek’s own store and retailers tend to match: the Barikade Series 2 biometric is $199.99 from Vaultek and $199.99 at Sportsman’s Warehouse.

Budget for the extras too. A Hornady RFID key fob costs a few dollars, so a spare tag for each adult is cheap. Vaultek’s Nano Key 3.0 is $22.99, or $79.99 for the biometric version, and the DS5i and ViSN Slider list it as sold separately. Both brands include a steel security cable with the handgun boxes covered here.

A hand lifting two small keys from a hallway hook that also holds a black RFID watchband and key fob

Setup Mistakes That Lock People Out

A lot of lockouts come down to setup. Here’s what to do on day one with either brand:

  • Change the default code. The Ready Vault manual says the vault “ships with a default code and should be reprogrammed before first use.” It also takes only one code, so a second code you program replaces the first.
  • Program every tag you own. The Ready Vault manual says the vault doesn’t ship with its tags programmed, so pair every tag at setup.
  • Enroll more than one finger. On a Vaultek, enroll the same finger several times at different angles, and add a finger from your other hand. A cut or a burn won’t lock you out then.
  • Keep the keys outside the safe. Both brands ship backup keys, and a key locked inside the safe it opens is no use to you.
  • Bolt it down. A handgun box held by its cable alone can still be stolen with the cable. Use the pre-drilled holes when you can.

Ten minutes of testing before you trust it with a gun is worth it. Open it twenty times with each method, including once at night with the lights off.

My Recommendation

For a bedside handgun, buy the Vaultek Barikade Series 2 biometric. At $199.99 it costs about what a RAPiD 2700KP sells for at retail, it matches the RAPiD’s 14-gauge steel, and with registration it carries twice the warranty. In our test it never opened for a stranger.

Buy the Hornady RAPiD 2700KP instead if your hands are often wet, oily or gloved, if more than one adult needs fast access, or if you want the same tag to open a safe in the house and another in the truck. At $232.99 from PSA, or less where the card below finds it, it’s a fair price for a 14-gauge box that fits a 1911.

For long guns, buy the Hornady RAPiD Ready Vault unless you specifically want fingerprint access and WiFi alerts. It holds more guns than the RS500i for $600 less. For a nightstand that also charges your phone, the Vaultek DS5i is the nicer piece, and the RAPiD Night Guard is the cheaper one.

Want more than two brands to choose from? See our best biometric gun safes, best nightstand gun safes and best gun safes for pistols rankings.

Vaultek Barikade Series 2 Live Pricing

Vaultek Barikade Series 2

14-gauge, fingerprint or keypad, 9V battery

From
$199.99
🟢 Live prices • verified 13 hours ago
Vaultek Barikade Series 2 Biometric Pistol Vault - Black
Vaultek Barikade Series 2 Biometric Pistol Vault - Black
Sportsman's Warehouse BEST
$199.99In StockBuy Now →
Vaultek BKD2B-SB Barikade Series 2 Biometric Compacted Pistol Smart Safe, Black
Vaultek BKD2B-SB Barikade Series 2 Biometric Compacted Pistol Smart Safe, Black
Bereli
$212.99In StockBuy Now →
VAULTEK Barikade Series 2 Biometric Safe
VAULTEK Barikade Series 2 Biometric Safe
KYGUNCO
$199.99In StockBuy Now →
Searching 200+ retailers...

Hornady RAPiD Safe 2700KP Live Pricing

Hornady RAPiD Safe 2700KP

14-gauge, RFID and keypad, fits 1911 pistols

From
$175.19
🟢 Live prices • verified 13 hours ago
Hornady Rapid Safe - 2700kp (xl) Rfid
Hornady Rapid Safe - 2700kp (xl) Rfid
Farnsworth Firearms BEST
$175.19In StockBuy Now →
HORNADY Rapid Safe 2700KP Handgun Security Safe (98172)
HORNADY Rapid Safe 2700KP Handgun Security Safe (98172)
GritrSports
$175.66In StockBuy Now →
Hornady RAPiD Safe 2700KP Extra-Large Lock Box Electronic RFID Safe With KeyPad
Hornady RAPiD Safe 2700KP Extra-Large Lock Box Electronic RFID Safe With KeyPad
Optics Planet
$216.99In StockBuy Now →
Hornady RAPiD Safe 2700KP XL Pistol Safe with RFID Lock Steel Black
Hornady RAPiD Safe 2700KP XL Pistol Safe with RFID Lock Steel Black
MidwayUSA
$227.70In StockBuy Now →
Hornady RAPiD Safe 2700KP XL 5" Barrel 1911 and 4" Revolvers Heavy Duty Tamper Proof Mobile Security Matte Black
Hornady RAPiD Safe 2700KP XL 5" Barrel 1911 and 4" Revolvers Heavy Duty Tamper Proof Mobile Security Matte Black
DEGuns
$227.99In StockBuy Now →
Hornady RAPiD Safe 2700KP Gun Safe, X-Large, Black - 98172
Hornady RAPiD Safe 2700KP Gun Safe, X-Large, Black - 98172
Palmetto State Armory
$232.99In StockBuy Now →
Searching 200+ retailers...

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Vaultek or Hornady better?

For a single bedside handgun, Vaultek. The Barikade Series 2 biometric costs $199.99, uses 14-gauge steel like the Hornady RAPiD 2700KP, and carries up to two years of warranty with registration against Hornady's one. Hornady is better for long guns: the RAPiD Ready Vault lists at $1,099.99 for up to eight long guns, $600 less than Vaultek's RS500i.

Is Vaultek or Hornady RAPiD faster to open?

Both open in about a second when they read you on the first try. A RAPiD tag never misreads, but on battery power you must press a button first to wake the reader. A Vaultek fingerprint reader sometimes needs a second press. In our test of the Vaultek Barikade Series 2 it opened 46 of 50 times with gun oil on the finger, and the second press worked every time.

Do Vaultek safes use 16-gauge steel?

Only some. The Barikade Series 2, VT Series, RS500i, RS800i and RS Slider are 14-gauge, and the MX has a 12-gauge door. The slim Slider Series pistol safe and the Essential 20 Series are 16-gauge. Hornady's 2700KP and 4800KP are 14-gauge, and its AR Gunlocker is 16-gauge.

Can someone else open a Hornady RAPiD safe with my RFID tag?

Yes. Anyone holding a programmed tag can open it, which is why Hornady's manual says the safe is only as secure as your care of the keys, code and tags. Keep the watchband on you or locked away, and program no more tags than you need. Each RAPiD accepts up to five.

Are Vaultek and Hornady safes California approved?

Yes, model by model. In October 2026 California's roster of certified firearm safety devices listed 73 Vaultek entries and 30 Hornady entries, including the Vaultek VT20i, MX, DS5i, RS500i and RS800i and the Hornady RAPiD 2700KP, 4800KP, Night Guard, Ready Vault and AR Gunlocker. Check your exact model number against the roster before you buy.

Have Vaultek or Hornady safes been recalled?

Neither brand appears in the CPSC recall database. The seven biometric gun safe recalls since 2023, covering 323,990 units, were all other brands.

What warranty do Vaultek and Hornady give?

Vaultek gives two years on LifePods and Barikade safes and three years on its other metal safes, in each case counting the extra year you get for registering. Hornady gives one year on RAPiD safes. Both cover the original buyer only, and Hornady will not send replacement keys if you lose them.

Are Vaultek or Hornady RAPiD safes fireproof?

No. Both are quick-access safes, not fire safes. Hornady's manual says the RAPiD is not intended to protect its contents from fire, water or humidity. Pair either one with a fire-rated safe if you need fire protection for long-term storage.

4,619+ Gun & Ammo Deals

Updated daily from 200+ top retailers. Filter by category, caliber, action type, and price.

Related Guides

Leave a Comment

Scroll back to top

The week's best gun and ammo deals, in one email

Picked from the 200+ retailers we track. Free, one email a week.